Skip Navigation

Home  |  Sitemap  |  Contact Us |  Translate Access Google Drive

Board Member: Shane Wimmer

Shane Wimmer

President, Place 4

Mr. Wimmer was elected as a member of the Seminole I.S.D. Board of Trustees representing Place 4, in May of 2016. He is a 1989 graduate of Muenster High School and graduated in 1994 from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center with a Bachelor of Science degree in Physical Therapy.  He moved to Seminole in 1997 where serves as Director of Rehab and Community Wellness at Memorial Hospital. He and his wife Teena have four children, Luke, Lindsey, Dane and Brittany.

Board Secretary: Rex Darby

Rex Darby

Vice-President, Place 3

Mr. Darby has been a member of the Seminole I.S.D. Board of Trustees, representing Place 3, since May of 2013. As a 1975 graduate of Seminole High School, Mr. Darby continued his education at Texas Tech University prior to returning to Seminole to begin his farming career. The Darby family has lived in Seminole since 1970 and has been active in the farming industry and community. Mr. Darby and his wife Deborah have three children.

Mike Carter

Mike Carter

Secretary, At-Large

Mr. Carter, was elected in May of 2018 as a member of the Seminole I.S.D. Board of Trustees, and represents one of three At-Large positions. He is a Seminole native, and has served his community in various capacities which include Mayor, City Council and M.S.Doss Youth Center Council. Mike is a 1987 graduate of Seminole High School and holds a Bachelor of Human Science degree from Texas Tech University. Mike is President of Carter and Company Irrigation. He and his wife, Julie, are the proud parents of three children: Alex, Kross, and Channing.

Board Member: David Bergen

David Stone

Assistant Secretary, At-Large

Mr. Stone was elected as a member of the Seminole I.S.D Board of Trustees, representing one of three At-Large positions, May of 2018.  Mr. Stone is a Seminole native and a 1979 graduate of Seminole High School. He holds a bachelor degree from Texas Tech University in Petroleum Land Management and worked in the insurance industry 15 years before returning, with his family, to Seminole in 1998.  David has served on several boards including: City Council, Economic Development Board and Education Foundation. Mr. Stone owns and operates Stone Pipe and is active in the farming industry.  He and his wife, Stephanie, have three grown children, Zach and wife, Kelsey; Lee and wife, Katie; and Sara, all of Seminole.

Board Member: Chad Rosalez

Chad Rosalez



Mr. Rosalez, a lifetime resident of Seminole is an I&E Technician with Energen. He has over 20 years experience in the oilfields of West Texas and is a 1995 graduate of Seminole High School. He was elected in May of 2018 as a member of the Seminole I.S.D. Board of Trustees, representing one of three At-Large positions. He and his wife, Diana, have four children, Kason, Kynedy, Xerrekk and Xoe.

Board President: Ben Royston

Ben Royston

Place 2

Mr. Royston has been a member of the Seminole I.S.D. Board of Trustees, representing Place 2, since May of 2007. He graduated from Springlake-Earth High School in 1984 then attended South Plains College. Mr. Royston and his wife Audra have four children, Kayla, Jonathan, Blake, and Jacob. He and his family moved to Seminole in 2000. Mr. Royston is the general manager of Pioneer Gin Inc. In addition, he has been an auctioneer for 20 years.

Board Assistant Secretary: Janelle Sullivan

Janelle Sullivan

Place 1

Mrs. Sullivan has been a member of the Seminole I.S.D. Board of Trustees, representing Place 1, since May of 2014. She previously served on the board from 1993-2007. She was a member of the 1995 Honor School Board of Texas. Mrs. Sullivan originally from Haskell, Texas received her Bachelor of Arts degree from Abilene Christian College, Bachelor of Science in Library Science from North Texas State College and a Master of Education degree in Counseling and Guidance. Before retiring, she served 34 years in education, with 26 years with Seminole I.S.D.  

School Board 2018

Left to Right: Board Members: Mike Carter, , David Stone, Chad Rosalez, Janelle Sullivan, Ben Royston, Rex DarbyShane Wimmer

(photo provided by Brett Whitfield)



  • Seminole I.S.D.'s board agendas are archived at Board Books.
  • Seminole Independent School District is governed by a seven-member board of trustees. Three members elected at large and four elected from single-member districts, serving terms of three years, with elections held annually. The terms of one-third of the Trustees, or as near to one-third as possible, expire each year. The Board elects a President, a Vice President, and a Secretary who are members of the Board. Officers are elected by majority vote of the members present and voting. Board officers serve for a term of one year or until a successor is elected. Officers may succeed themselves in office.


    The Board has final authority to determine and interpret the policies that govern the schools and, subject to the mandates and limits imposed by state and federal authorities, has complete and full control of the District.

  • Seminole Independent School District, in cooperation with parents and community, will develop well educated citizens, who are assets to society, by maintaining a high quality staff utilizing the latest technology and resources.

  • Regularly scheduled meetings are set for the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 PM. Special meetings and workshop sessions may be called when necessary. The Board meets in the Board Room of SISD Administration Building located at 207 SW 6th Street, Seminole, Texas.

    All district events may be viewed on the District Tandem Calendar.

  • Seminole I.S.D.'s board policy may be accessed and searched here.


  • Find documents and links addressing improvement plans, performance ratings, election notices, finance and more.



Copyright © Seminole Independent School District  2016. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM